The Trunk Novel — What It Is and Why New Writers Need Them

Mason Sabre
3 min readApr 30, 2019

All new writers need a collection of trunk novels before they publish. Here’s what it is and why.

By kucherav Adobe Stock

I first heard this term a few years ago when I had the pleasure to meet Author Kelley Armstrong. If you don’t know by now, she is one of my favourite authors. I devour her books (I used to … but time *hangs head in shame*). Anyway, I was a keen member on her site and part of her writing group. I remember the days of posting chapters and then eagerly waiting for responses from other members. Because of this, when I met Kelley, she actually knew who I was. I was so shocked. Like … wow, you know my name.

We got talking about writing, and she told me about trunk novels. I asked what they were and she told me that these are novels that never see the light of day. They are that story you write … you know, when you finally decide to do it. You have some fun, write away like your ass is on fire (she didn’t say that part), enjoy the learning experience, because believe me, it is one hell of a learning experience and then …

Put it in a trunk and leave it there. Yep. Those bastard books should never see the light of day. I think she might have three of them, she said? Maybe. I don’t know. But I was like wow, really?

--

--

Mason Sabre

Mason is an author and a teacher. He loves to write and read and will always be a life-long learner. https://www.patreon.com/masonsabre